Let go & Let Flow….I never knew I had a fear of heights….until I met Mt. Rainier

I never knew that until I went for a fun filled drive to Mt. Rainier last week. Being from the Northeast and coming to the Northwest has been quite a culture shock. Both places are beautiful, but I was not used to all of the hills and heights around these parts….lol. Well last week was my crash course initiation into Northwest living.

Mt. Rainier.

This mountain is absolutely beautiful! Regal. Ancient. Magical!

I just was wondering as we drove up the mountain…..Where are the guard rails? They had a few wooden ones, but I mean at 5,000 feet up on a swirly curve with nothing but cliff two feet away from your tires you might hope for a little steel. I am just saying.

Since I was not driving I had no control over how fast we were going. Have you ever been in the passenger side of a car and wished for the second brake they used to have on the cars at driver’s ed? Well, I was stomping my imaginary brake the whole time.

My fear almost ruined the trip. I am serious! My guide said “I was getting on their nerves”….Shoot, I was getting on my own at one point I had to decide

Either you going to keep your eyes glued shut and miss the beauty of the mountain. Or, you can just let go, and trust that everything will be o.k.

Well, since you are reading this post you learned one thing. I made it down off the mountain, and I also learned how to let go.

It is amazing how tense the body gets when we are trying to control everything. Instead of just letting go, and experiencing things as they come. I mean really, what can you control? What is truly secure? Is it all an illusion? These are all questions my drive up Mt. Rainier forced me to examine within myself.

So while my host who took me to the mountain was rolling their eyes in the back of their head, I was having a serious metaphysical moment within myself. I was facing myself truly!

….and it was not pretty.

The truth is I was missing out on all of that experience because I was too scared to let go! It made me wonder what else in my life am I scared to let go of, and allow things to just flow?

What about You?

Here are some pictures that show just how letting go, allowed me to open up to the possibilities and the blessings of what is all around us!

 

 

 

 

Bliss & Blessings

Kristin Alana

 

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Let go & Let Flow….I never knew I had a fear of heights….until I met Mt. Rainier

  1. reneebaccaro July 23, 2012 at 10:07 pm Reply

    I love your site…and all your beautiful pictures!

    • kristinalana July 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm Reply

      Thank you so much!! I am glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

